Philippines Holiday in 2011

President Benigno Aquino III has announced the holidays for 2011 through his Proclamation no. 84.

Under Proclamation 84, the regular holidays are January 1 (New Year’s Day), April 9 (Araw ng Kagitingan), April 21 (Maundy Thursday), April 22 (Good Friday), May 1 (Labor Day), June 12 (Independence Day), August 29 (National Heroes Day), December 25 (Christmas Day) and December 30 (Rizal Day).

The special non-working holidays under the Proc. 84 were August 21 (Ninoy Aquino Day), November 1 (All Saints Day), and December 31 as the last day of the year.

There will be no classes in all levels on February 25 (EDSA revolution anniversary, as stated in the Proc. 84.

The country will also observe nationwide the Eid’l Fithr and Eid’l Adha but the respective dates will be determined by the Islamic calendar.

President Aquino also said on Tuesday, there will be less long weekends next year and no group lobby in amending the economic holidays of the past administration.

He added, he was given three choices and he choose what he thinks will be favorable not only to the business community but also to the daily earners.(PNA)

Leave a Reply