Office of the Cabinet Secretary Renamed

By Lilybeth G. Ison

President Benigno S. Aquino III has signed Executive Order No. 99 reconstituting the Office of the Cabinet Secretariat, renaming it as the Office of the Cabinet Secretary.

Deputy Presidential Spokesperson Abigail Valte, in a press briefing in Malacanang on Tuesday, said the Office of the Cabinet Secretary is an integral part of the Office of the President for the effective integration and implementation of the programs of the Aquino administration.

EO 99, signed by the President on Oct. 31, shall have the following powers and functions:

— Facilitate the identification of a list of priority areas and outcome-based targets in the Social Contract and the Philippine Development Plan (PDP) 2011-2016, in consultation with the Cabinet Clusters, for final approval of the President;

— Recommend to the President an annual detailed and measurable performance and projects roadmap that will facilitate outputs of the targets against priorities, in close coordination with the concerned agencies;

— Ensure the timely execution and monitor the significant impact of the targets under the annual performance and projects roadmap, and re-align targets when needed;

— Represent the President in meetings and such other fora in order to expedite inter-agency action towards the achievement of the targets identified in the performance and projects roadmap;

— Assist in providing timely and organized information to the Cabinet on issues and problems submitted for decision and action; and,

— Perform such other functions as may be necessary and incidental to the attainment of its objectives or as may be assigned by the President.

Valte said the functions of the Inter-Agency Task Force created under Administrative Order (AO) 25 will also be transferred to the Office of the Cabinet Secretary headed by newly appointed Secretary Rene Almendras.

“For this purpose, the Development Academy of the Philippines (DAP) shall serve as technical resource institution to the Office of the Cabinet Secretary,” she said.

The Cabinet Secretary shall also be included in all Cabinet clusters, and shall also be a member of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) Board Executive Committee and the following NEDA Board Committees — Investment Coordination Committee, Social Development Committee, and Infrastructure Committee.

Leave a Reply