Ceasefire Agreement in Muslim Provinces

The Joint Coordinating Committees on the Cessation of Hostilities (CCCH) of the government and the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) agreed to set up monitoring posts in five provinces to strengthen the ceasefire which is holding since January, 2012.

In a joint statement issued following the 42nd regular meeting on Tuesday of both ceasefire committees at the Waterfront Insular Hotel, Brig. General Gilberto Jose Roa, chair of the government CCCH and Said Sheik, Al Haj, chair of the MILF-CCCH acknowledged the need to set up joint ceasefire monitoring posts in Datu Saudi, Maguindanao, Pikit, North Cotabato, Munai, Lanao del Norte, Butig, Lanao del Sur and Maasim, Sarangani.

Both leaders also agreed in principle on putting up monitoring posts in Basilan and Zamboanga Sibugay, and the reorganization of local monitoring teams in the provinces of Maguindanao, Basilan, and Zamboanga Sibugay.

Both sides also agreed to discuss in a separate session issues pertaining to the MILF-Task Force Ittihad (Unity) and the guidelines of elevating unresolved issuet to the level of the government and MILF peace negotiating panels.

They also concurred to strengthen coordination and cooperation during the conduct the Bangsamoro Leaders Assembly at Camp Darapanan on July 6-10, 2012 and the general registration by the Commission on Elections at the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao on July 9-18, 2012.

“For this purpose, both sides agreed to undertake continuing coordination meetings and measure in furtherance of the peace process,” the joint communique stated.

Leave a Reply