2013 Election in Davao Del Norte

Second District Rep. Antonio F. Lagdameo filed Monday afternoon his Certificate of Candidacy (CoC)here to seek his third and last term even as no names crop up to challenge him in the congressional race.

Lagdameo, who founded the Kusog Baryohanon as their local party that is affiliated with the newly-formed National Unity Party (NUP), was accompanied by his uncle, former Rep. Antonio “Tony Boy” Floirendo, and partymates.

Before going to the Commission on Elections(Comelec) provincial office, the party attended a Holy Mass celebrated by Fr. Lucas Carisma at the Gambriel Resort in Panabo City and later took their oath as Kusog Baryohanon members.

“I am very much delighted that District 2 is once again united and strong as we approach the forthcoming May 13, 2013 mid-term elections. Unity binds us together in the pursuit of progress and development for our municipalities, district and province,” Lagdameo said.

He said speaking of unity, his party signed a covenant with the local Liberal Party officials “to respect one another in the coming election.” This means, their candidates will be unopposed and respected by the Liberal Party in District 2 and in return Kusog will be respecting LP candidates in District 1.

Lagdameo said their group will be supporting Gov. Rodolfo del Rosario and Vice Gov. Victorio Suaybaguio on their third and last term of office.

Del Rosario’s group will reportedly be the LP’s standard-bearers in Davao del Norte, including his son, Rep. Anthony del Rosario of the first district.

Three incumbent board members in the second district – Janet Gavina, Ely Dacalus and Hernanie Duco – are running under Lagdameo. The other two are Austerio Obenza, former vice mayor of Island Garden City of Samal, and Ernesto Evangelista Sr. Both of them already filed their CoCs Monday afternoon.

The second district’s four of the five incumbent mayors are running under the Kusog party. The five incumbent vice mayors are also with the group while 90 percent of the incumbent city and municipal councilors are also running under Kusog.

Leave a Reply